JOIN THE FIGHT to end generic d​rug shortages and skyrocketing drug prices. CONTACT your senators and representatives and tell them to REPEAL the GPO Safe Harbor and STOP GPO kickbacks.

In fact, the bill that would accomplish that was drafted in 2005! Click HEREIf it had been enacted then, there would never have been any drug shortages.

For contact and biographical information for your members of Congress, click HERE

​The most effective approach is to send a personal fax or email  to the senators and House members who represent your state and congressional district, respectively. Members pay much more attention to personal correspondence than form letters, and more attention to messages from constituents than non-constituents. [Because of security concerns, letters sent by regular mail, FEDEX or other services may be delayed 7 to 10 days.]. MAKE IT PERSONAL. If you, your family or friends have been affected personally by drug shortages, include your own story in your letter. 

The  Senate and House committees listed below have 1)  held hearings or produced reports on the drug shortage crisis and/or anticompetitive GPO abuses; or 2) have direct or indirect jurisdiction over one or both of these issues.   But any Member of any committee can help end this crisis. Don't hesitate to follow up with a phone call to make sure they received your message. Remember, they work for you---or at least they're supposed to!

Additionally,  state attorneys general are responsible for protecting consumers and taxpayers from harmful anticompetitive practices, such as those perpetrated by GPOs. Their consumer protection and/or antitrust units have jurisdiction over these matters. Consider filing a complaint with your state AG. Contact information can be found by Googling 1) state attorney general and 2) your state. For example, contact info for New York State Attorney General  Eric Schneiderman can be found at:

CONTACT Your Members of Congress & 

State Attorneys General

 Key Committees

United States Senate

Commerce, Science and Transportation


      Chairman                                               Ranking Member

     John Thune (R-SD)                               Bill Nelson (D-FL)

     Majority Staff Contact:                         Minority Staff Contact:

     Ph: (202) 224-0411                               Ph: (202) 224-1251

     FAX: (202) 228-0303                           FAX: (202) 224-1259



     Chairman                                               Ranking Member

    Orrin G. Hatch (R-UT)                          Ron Wyden (D-OR) 

                               Staff Contact: Ph: (202) 224-4515             

                                                      FAX: (202) 228-0554

Health, Education, Labor & Pensions


     Chairman                                               Ranking Member

    Lamar Alexander (R-TN)                      Patty Murray (D-WA)

    Majority Staff Contact:                          Minority Staff Contact:

    Ph: (202) 224-5375                                Ph: (202) 224-6770

    FAX: (202) 224-5128                             FAX: (202) 224-6510

Judiciary, Antitrust Subcommittee


    Chairman                                                Ranking Member

   Michael S. Lee (R-UT)                           Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)  

   Majority Staff Contact:                           Minority Staff Contact:

   Ph: (202) 224-5225                                 Ph: (202) 224-7703 

    FAX: (202) 228-2294                                     FAX: (202) 224-9102

Permanent Subcommittee on Investigations


     Chairman                                                                  Ranking Member   

    Rob Portman (R-OH)                                               Thomas R. Carper (D-DE)

    Majority Staff Contact:                                             Minority Staff Contact:

    Ph: (202) 224-4198                                                   Ph: (202) 224-2627

Special Committee on Aging


   Chairman                                                 Ranking Member

  Susan M. Collins (R-ME)                        Bob Casey (D-PA)

                             Staff Contact: Ph: (202) 224-5364         

                                                                   FAX: (202) 224-9926

U. S. House of Representatives

Energy and Commerce*


    Chairman                                               Ranking Member

   Greg Walden (R-OR)                             Frank Pallone, Jr. (D-NJ)

   Majority Staff Contact:                          Minority Staff Contact:

   Ph: (202) 225-2927                                Ph: (202) 225-3641

   FAX: (202) 225-1919                            FAX: (202) 225-2525

*Important Note: On November 15, 2012, then-Rep. Ed Markey (D-MA, now senator) and five other  Democratic members of the Energy and Commerce Committee sent a letter to the Acting Comptroller General of the United States asking the Government Accountability Office (GAO) to conduct an investigation into the role of GPOs in causing the drug shortages and the deadly fungal meningitis outbreak. [Click HERE to read their letter]. The GAO's report was expected in the fall of 2014. The five other signers were: Henry Waxman (CA, since retired), John D. Dingell (MI, since retired), Frank Pallone Jr. (NJ), Anna G. Eshoo (CA), and Diana DeGette (CO). 

Tragically for patients, providers, and taxpayers, the powerful GPO lobby derailed the GAO investigation. This industry knew that it could not survive an thorough, independent investigation. The GAO report that was issued in November 2014 had nothing to do with drug shortages.


Oversight and Government Reform


    Chairman                                                Ranking Member

   Trey Gowdy (R-SC)                                Elijah Cummings (D-MD)

   Majority Staff Contact:                           Minority Staff Contact:

   Ph: (202) 225-5074                                 Ph: (202) 225-5051

   FAX: (202) 225-3974                             FAX: (202) 225-4784

Small Business


   Chairman                                                Ranking Member

    Steve Chabot (R-OH)                             Nydia Velazquez (D-NY)

   Majority Staff Contact:                           Minority Staff Contact: 

   Ph: (202) 225-5821                                 Ph: (202) 225-4038

   FAX: (202) 225-5276                              FAX: (202) 225-7209

Ways and Means


    Chairman                                               Ranking Member

   Kevin Brady (R-TX)                              Richard Neal (D-MA)                  

   Majority Staff  Contact:                         Minority Staff Contact:

   Ph: (202) 225-3625                                Ph: (202) 225-4021

​   FAX: (202) 225-2610                            FAX: (202) 225-5680